Documentation of Exiland Backup

Starting Exiland Backup



Interfaces of Standard and Professional are similar. Interface of Standard are shown below.

The Professional version has additional panel of the service control.

Main Window

You can start Exiland Backup through the Start menu.

After you start Exiland Backup, you will see the main window of the program.

Exiland Backup displays icon in the system tray at the bottom right corner of the screen.

The main window is divided into two parts: a list of backup tasks at the top and the task details tabs below.

In addition, the main window contains the main menu, and the toolbar at the top.

The task list may contain a list of tasks and groups. It is empty when the program is opened for the first time because no tasks have been created yet.

You can adjust a columns width, position and visibility. To change position and visibility enter to common settings of the program.

Groups are used for the grouping of tasks by theme or are used to run tasks consecutively.

If you have several tasks, you can merge these into a group. For this, you must create a new group first. To move a task to an existing group, use the menu "Task" or context menu (right-click the task and then select "Move task to group").

Every task has important properties that are visible in the columns of the list: Name of Tasks, Backup Type, Destination folder(s), Duplication, Schedule, etc.

You need to create a new backup task first.

Click the "Create" button, specify a Task Name, select the files and folders to backup, select the location to save your backups to, and then set the schedule.

The bottom part of the main window contains the following tabs:

Beautiful files backup software - main window

Figure 1. Main Window

Tab "Start time"

Here, you can see each starting time of the task/group if the task schedule is set. The program automatically calculates the timetable according to the specified schedule.

Tab "Created Backups"

After creating backups, they appear in the backups list in the "Created backups" tab for each backup task (except synchronization).

The full path on the disk to the backup is shown in the first column.

If a backup was stored in several storage locations, then you can expand the node on the left by clicking the "+" button to view storage locations. Other columns contain the parameters of the created backups.

You can adjust a columns width, position and visibility. To change position and visibility enter to common settings of the program.

For each backup you can:

To get more information go to the section Restoring files from backup

Tab "Execution Log"

During the task/group execution of each step, information is written to the log.

Icons are used to display status of finished tasks and may be following:

No error(s) - backup was created successfully
with warning(s) - warning(s) only
with error(s) - error(s) and/or warning(s)
with errors - No error(s), but the backup was not created
was cancelled - Task was cancelled

Aborted tasks do not have any icon.

To show the log, you must select the time on the left. After selecting the record, you can:

Main Toolbar

The toolbar contains buttons with common operations for backup tasks and groups. In addition, these operations are accessible from the main menu.

The "Settings" and "Queue" buttons are also accessible.

After the task selection, you can change its settings by clicking the "Properties" button, and delete, run, or copy the task with another name if you wish to create a new task on an existing task basis.

To edit the common settings, click the "Settings" button.

To show the dialog "Tasks Queue", click the "Queue" button. This button is intended to show the tasks queue of the tasks that are to be performed.

Main Menu

The main menu contains various items such as Task, Tools, and Help.

The "Task" item contains subitems with common operations for backup tasks and groups. These operations are available by right-clicking a task/group.

The "Tools" item contains subitems to common program settings and also items "Set password" and "Open working folder with the tasks settings".

You can set a password to restrict access to the Exiland Backup settings. This password will be requested when starting the program.

Opening the working folder with the tasks settings may be needed to backup the "ExilandBackup.tid" file, for example, if you plan to reinstall the operating system. In this case, you can replace this settings file after installing Windows.

The "Help" item contains the helping system, registering subitems, and website links.